Archive for 'wow'

It is a truth universally acknowledged . . .

. . . that seeing galleys for one’s book is EXCITING. Here’s a quick little peek at The Redemption of Philip Thane!

Photo: The Redemption of Philip Thane, by Lisa Berne (Avon Books), galley title page

Photo: The Redemption of Philip Thane, by Lisa Berne (Avon Books), galley page 1

For more info, and to preorder from all your favorite retailers, click here.

Cover image: The Redemption of Philip Thane by Lisa Berne - Pan Macmillan edition

The gorgeous UK edition!

 

 

What do you think? Click here to comment.
National Parent Day Reads

Honored that The Worst Duke in the World is included in this amazing list!

Graphic: Livingston Public Library - National Parent Day Reads

The Worst Duke in the World by Lisa Berne (Avon Books)

My hero, the Duke of Radcliffe, is a widower with a lively eight-year-old son, Wakefield. Kirkus cheered: “Deftly funny . . . A nice portrait of what courtship is like for a dedicated single parent.”

And from Smart Bitches, Trashy Books: “What this book contains: humor, affection, mutual respect, animals, a consistently amusing child, consent (with regard to kissing and general making out), good food, pretty dresses, a decent amount of end-of-book groveling, discussions about the wives of Henry VIII [and] happy endings all around. . . . A lovely cozy read.”

For more about The Worst Duke in the World — currently on sale for $1.99 in ebook! — click here.

Want to check out the other nice things people have been saying about it? Click here.

What do you think? Click here to comment.
Cover love!

UK-based Pan Macmillan is publishing its own edition of The Redemption of Philip Thane and I’m tickled pink to share the front cover image with you here!

Cover image: The Redemption of Philip Thane by Lisa Berne - Pan Macmillan edition

“Bridgerton meets Groundhog Day in this rip-roaring Regency comedy for fans of Julia Quinn, Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer.”

Isn’t it GORGEOUS?!?

You can preorder by clicking on the link above, or, if you’re wanting the Avon Books/HarperCollins edition, click here.

Graphic: "How many times can a rake get it wrong," shared via LisaBerne.com

 

 

What do you think? Click here to comment.
News!

Thrilled to let you know that three more Penhallow Dynasty books are coming your way!

Graphic: 3 new Penhallow Dynasty books!

Featuring the younger brothers of Captain Hugo Penhallow in The Bride Takes a Groom — all grown up and the heroes of their own stories!

Cover for The Bride Takes a Groom by Lisa Berne (Avon Books)

A Kirkus Best Book of the Year
A BookPage Best Romance of the Year
A Fresh Fiction “Fresh Pick”
A Publishers Weekly “Big Title of Spring”

Would you like to meet — or renew your acquaintance with — Hugo? Click here to read the prologue and Chapter 1.

And if you’d like to keep abreast of further news about these next three books, feel free to sign up for my newsletter if youGraphic: Become a VIP reader, shared via LisaBerne.com haven’t already! Click here to go to an easy-peasy, no-spam signup form.

 

What do you think? Click here to comment.
Bookwheel!

For those of us who like to read more than one book at a time!

Image: Bookwheel, shared via LisaBerne.com

Via @HaggardHawks on Twitter: “Invented by the Italian engineer Agostino Ramelli in 1588, a bookwheel is a rotating library.”

What do you think? Click here to comment.
More warm fuzzies for the Worst Duke!

Absolutely delighted to share these fun new tidbits with you!

♦ From Roses Are Blue:

I loved reading this book so much! . . . The Worst Duke in the World is mostly lighthearted and entertaining, with the sad partThe Worst Duke in the World by Lisa Berne (Avon Books) thankfully brief. I totally enjoyed the read, the romance, the smiles, and the wonderful happy ever after.   

Click here to read the full review.

♦ From Unabridged Chick:

Adorable. . . . Berne’s writing style had me laughing out loud more than once. . . . Honestly, it was kind of what I needed right now.

Click here to read the review in full.

♦ Popsugar has included The Worst Duke in the World again and says it “will sweep you off your feet,” including it in a post saying:

If you consider yourself a Bridgerton fan, this list of historical romance books is sure to ruffle your petticoats in the best way . . . [They will] bring you the same Bridgerton feels that you fell in love with the first time around. 

Click here to go to the full post!

♦ Finally, a big shout-out to the Naughty Librarian on YouTube, who unboxed The Worst Duke in the World with some very lovely things to say about it! Click here to go to the video; her comments begin around 4:30.

For more about The Worst Duke in the World — including all of Chapter 1 for your reading pleasure, order info, and a peek at the other nice things people are saying about it, click here. And if you’d like to listen to an audio sample (the narrator is amaaaaaaaazing!), click here.

 

 

What do you think? Click here to comment.
“Attention, Bridgerton fans”!

As a total JQ fangirl (and gaga for Bridgerton!), this is SUCH an epic compliment.

Graphic: "Attention, Bridgerton fans: if you're ready to delve deeper into the world of historical romance, The Worst Duke in the World is a fun place to start." -Popsugar, shared via LisaBerne.com

Want to learn more about The Worst Duke in the World, read Chapter 1, check out some of the other nice things people are saying about it, and see all your ordering options? Click here!

What do you think? Click here to comment.
Valentine’s Day giveaway!

Wow, what a super-fun “Whole Lotta Love” giveaway, and how lovely that my own Engaged to the Earl is included! Graphic: Engaged to the Earl - Booklist starred review

Win 11 new romances and build your own library of love . . . BookTrib is celebrating Valentine’s Day in a BIG way — with a stack of our favorite romance titles! From sweet to steamy, from historical to modern, there’s something here for everyone.

Here’s the rundown of what one lucky winner will receive:

  • Brazen and the Beast by Sarah MacLean
  • Wrapped Up in You by Jill Shalvis
  • The Clergyman’s Wife by Molly Greeley
  • You Belong With Me by Tari Faris
  • Engaged to the Earl by Lisa Berne
  • Where Winter Finds You by J.R. Ward
  • Life, Love and the Pursuit of Happiness by Sandra Hill
  • The Earl Takes a Fancy by Lorraine Heath
  • Wicked All Night by Jeaniene Frost
  • Some Like It Scandalous by Maya Rodale
  • Say No to the Duke by Eloisa James

Click here for your chance to win. But hurry . . . the giveaway closes in two days. Good luck!

What do you think? Click here to comment.
“Champagne in book form”!

Oh my goodness, The Worst Duke in the World has received a glowing review in Entertainment Weekly!

There’s no other way to describe this fizzy historical romance than enchanting. The wry humor and witty banter explode off the pageCover image for The Worst Duke in the World by Lisa Berne (Avon Books) from the start. . . . It’s champagne in book form — bubbly, fun, and intoxicating far more quickly than one might anticipate. One gets the sense that Berne likes to have fun and isn’t afraid to let her readers in on the gag. But even with the robust humor, the book is still heartfelt. . . . The Worst Duke in the World is a breezy, fizzy read that will cut through even the darkest winter doldrums.

Click here to read the full review.

Want to learn more about The Worst Duke in the World, order a copy, read Chapter 1? Click here.

What do you think? Click here to comment.
Surprise!

Check out this rock a geologist recently found in Brazil!

Photo: Cookie Monster rock

Further proof that Nature is awesome.

Read all about it here.

What do you think? Click here to comment.